Undergraduate Student Awards

The Department of History has four awards that are given to graduating seniors each year, two each for the College and the School of Foreign Service.


The Morris Medal is awarded for the best History thesis written by a graduating senior major, as chosen by a departmental committee. Recent winners were:

  • 2019: Marcus Lustig, Blacking up the Ivory Tower: Blackface Minstrelsy in College Life at Georgetown University
  • 2018: Xinlan Hu, Danger and Opportunity: The Sino-U.S. Rapprochement as a Domestic Political Crisis in Both Countries, 1971-1972
  • 2017: Andrew Meshnick, A Morbid Disconnect: The Battle Over Slave Health in the Early American Tobacco Industry
  • 2016: Michael Donnay, Under One Management: The Jesuit Colleges in the Maryland-New York Province, 1879-1926
  • 2015: Julia Cuddihy Butz (AMST): Brought Up in the Big House: American Slave Children in the Plantation Household
  • 2014: Eric Nemarich (MVST): ‘The Bitterness of Compunction’: Clerical Attitudes tp Polyphony in Medieval Paris, c. 1230-1330
  • 2013: Samuel Gerstle: “Pawns in the Cold War: The Indoctrination and Repatriation of Japanese POWs in Siberia, 1945-1949”
  • 2012: Benjamin Kirschenbaum, “The High Priest of Nature (Isaac Newton)”
  • 2011: Caitlin Shea, “John Bull’s Other Island” and British Identity in an Era of Imperialism: The Reactions of the Anglo-Irish Literary Elite to the Execution of the Leaders of the Easter Rising and the Trial and Hanging of Sir Roger Casement (1916)
  • 2010: Jonathan Cohn, Who Is Out of Line in the March of Progress? Perspectives on Religion and Industry Around the Great Exhibition of 1851
  • 2009: J. Patrick Brown, Migrants, Miners, and Mayors: A History of Scranton, Pennsylvania, from 1865-1902;
  • and Daniel Rendleman, From Revolution to Rebellion: George Washington as Seen by the Literary Societies of the Greater Chesapeake, 1813-1868
  • 2008: Stephen Kenny, Rex Anglorum: The Transformative Reign of Alfred the Great and the Unification of England in the Ninth and Tenth Centuries
  • 2007: Kara Flook, The Rise and Fall of the Fourth Power: Examining the Mutual Influence of the Independent Russian Press and the First Chechen War
  • 2006: Laura Dziorny, Party Politics in the Congressional Elections of 1930
  • 2005: Philip Marcelo, The Relationship between European Settlers and Native Americans in Turn of the Century Tierra del Fuego and Patagonia (Southern Chile and Argentina, 1890-1920)

The Foley Award is awarded by the College to a graduating senior who combines academic excellence with a commitment to social justice and community service, as chosen from applicants by a departmental committee. Recent winners were:

  • 2019: Roberto Cabrera and Sarah Metz
  • 2018: Simon Mairson
  • 2017: Casey Nolan
  • 2016: Daniel Aherne
  • 2015: Thérèse Kilbane Myers
  • 2014: no award
  • 2013: Kathleen Bush-Joseph
  • 2012: Elizabeth Cerabino
  • 2011: Victoria Stulgis
  • 2010: Maya Brodziak and Jonathan Cohn
  • 2009: Christopher Miller
  • 2008: Nathanael Van Duzer
  • 2007: Ruben Loyo
  • 2006: John Sutherland
  • 2005: Kristina Gupta


The Davids Award goes to the best History thesis written by a graduating senior, as chosen by a departmental committee. Recent winners were:

  • 2019: Harrison Goohs, A Funeral Pyre or a Comforting Shimmer of Peace? The World of the Congress of Rastatt (1797-1799) and the End of the First Reich
  • 2018: Camden Elliott, “Through Death’s Wilderness”: Environment and Warfare in the American South, 1835-1865
  • 2017: Patrick Gage, Georgetown at Nuremberg: Edmund Walsh and the Curious Case of Karl Haushofer
  • 2016: Caleb Morell, Radically [In]tolerant: How English Baptists Changed the Early Modern Toleration Debate
  • 2015: Cody Williams, Popular Rhymes of Resistance and the Rhythm of Agrarian Reform: Brazil, Cordels, and the National Plan for Agrarian Reform from 1986 to 1988
  • 2014: Kathleen Kokensparger, Les Mécontentes: Gender and Profession in Third Estate Women’s Cahiers de Doléances on the Eve of the French Revolution
  • 2013: Peter Stanton, Língit ka Waashdan Kwaan, the Tlingit and the Americans: Interactions and Transformations, 1856-1896″
  • 2012: Taylor Lescallette, “Vietnam is the Auschwitz of Our Generation”: National Socialism, the Holocaust, and the Cold War in the Writings of the Red Army Faction, 1968-1977
  • 2011: no award
  • 2010: Matthew Giffin, The Britain of the East: Liberalism, Darwinism, and British Perceptions of Japan, 1851-1914
  • 2009: Anthony Piccirillo, “A Vile, Infamous, Diabolical Treaty”: The Franco-Ottoman Alliance of Francis I and the Eclipse of the Christendom Ideal
  • 2008: no award
  • 2007: Emily Curran, Félix Ireta Viveros and la Danza de los Cerdos: Corruption, Politics, and Foot-and-Mouth Disease in 1940s Mexico
  • 2006: Kelsey Ruppel, Values of Work in Volga German Culture(s), 1850-1917
  • 2005: Jordan White, Young Europe: Mazzini’s Role in the Development of European Nationalisms

The Nevils Award goes to the best student in the field of US Diplomatic History as chosen by the faculty in that field. Recent winners were:

  • 2023: Brennan Young and Edward Donilon
  • 2022: Molly Murphy
  • 2021: No award
  • 2020: No award
  • 2019: Aliyah Quereshi
  • 2018: Camden Elliott
  • 2017: Matthew Raab
  • 2016: Samuel Pence
  • 2015: Trevor Tezel
  • 2014: Steven Keithley
  • 2013: no award
  • 2012: Patrick Curran
  • 2011: Andrea Michelsen
  • 2010: John Maurer
  • 2009: Meghan O’Neill
  • 2008: Andrew Clayton
  • 2007: no award
  • 2006: Patrick Scruggs and Charles Smith II
  • 2005: Megan Kinsella