Skip to main content

The Department of History at Georgetown University is a collegial community of undergraduate majors, graduate students, alumni, and more than 40 full-time faculty members. Our faculty is broadly international in its range of skills and interests and we are known as a leader in global, trans-regional, and comparative history; we bring equal dedication to our scholarship and our students, recognizing that the synergy between research and teaching is a source of excellence in both.

Our degree programs include two undergraduate majors (one for students in Georgetown College and the other for those in the School of Foreign Service), two Master’s degree programs, and a distinguished Ph.D. program. 

The History Department faculty has been honored with many prestigious recent awards to faculty, including those from the Guggenheim Foundation, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars, the American Council of Learned Societies, the Social Science Research Council, and the Ford Foundation, among many others. More than a dozen books authored by members of our faculty have been awarded prestigious national and international book prizes. The Department also enjoys a reputation for excellence in teaching, both at the undergraduate and graduate level, and it counts among its ranks numerous recipients of the Dean’s Teaching Award. Recent awards include:

  • James Millward, History, and Michelle Wang, Art History: John E. Sawyer Seminars on the Comparative Study of Cultures, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, which will establish the Critical Silk Road Seminars
  • Michael Kazin: Distinguished Visiting Fellow, Advanced Research Collaborative, Graduate School and University Center, The City University of New York 
  • Alison Games: Robert C. Ritchie Distinguished Fellowship at the Huntington Library
  • Aparna Vaidik: Writing Fellowship, Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussorie, India
  • Catherine Evtuhov with David Moon, York University, UK, Principal Investigator, and Julia Lajus, European University: International Network Grant, The British Academy Leverhulme Trust for the project, “Exploring Russia’s Environmental History and Natural Resources” 
  • Catherine Evtuhov: Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize for most important contribution to Russian, Eurasian, East European Studies, Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies, for Portrait of a Russian Province: Economy, Society and Civilization in Nineteenth-Century Nizhnii Novgorod (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2012)
  • John Tutino: Bolton-Johnson Prize for Best Book on history of Latin America, Conference on Latin American History, and Allan Sharlin Memorial Award for Outstanding Book in social science, Social Science History Association, for Making a New World: Founding Capitalism in the Bajìo and Spanish North America (Duke University Press, 2011)

For more information about the department, please take a moment to browse our website. For additional questions about our degree programs, course offerings, seminars, and conferences, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Department of HistoryICC 60037th and O Streets, NW, Washington DC 20057Phone: (202) 687.6061Fax: (202) 687.7245

Connect with us via: